Medical evidence is the backbone of any claim for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits or workers compensation benefits. Without medical documents, you have little chance of getting approved for benefits.
Unfortunately medical providers and the third-party vendors they hire to handle medical record requests sometimes charge a lot of money for you to get copies of your medical records. Not a week goes by that we don’t see a medical provider try to overcharge for records.
Below are the allowed state medical records copying charges for 2017 in the states that I practice. A medical provider cannot charge more for records than is allowed by law.
In Delaware a medical provider can charge $2.00 per page for the first 10 pages, $1.00 per page for pages 11-20, 90 cents per page for pages 21-60, and 50 cents per page for pages 61 and above. If the medical provider mails the documents to you, then he or she can charge you the actual cost of postage or shipping. See Delaware Administrative Code, Title 24, Division 1700, Section 16.0 for more information.
District of Columbia
In D.C. a medical provider can charge “a reasonable fee for duplicating records.” What this “reasonable fee” is may vary from provider to provider, so make sure that you review the invoice. The medical provider must send you copies of the records within 30 days of your request. See D.C. Municipal Regulations Section 17-4612.2 for more information.
In Maryland a medical provider can charge a preparation fee of $22.28, as well as 75 cents per page plus the actual cost for postage and handling. This is why you should limit the number of medical record requests you make from the same provider. See Section 4-304(c)(3) of the Code of Maryland for more information.
In North Carolina a medical provider can charge 75 cents per page for the first 25 pages, 50 cents per page for pages 26-100, and 25 cents per page for anything over 100 pages. There is a minimum fee of $10 per request. See Section 90-411 of the North Carolina General Statutes for more information.
In Pennsylvania a medical provider can charge only $27.92 for production of records, no matter how many pages, if the records are requested to support a Social Security Disability claim or appeal.
In Virginia a medical provider can charge a “reasonable cost-based fee” if a patient requests copies of his or her own records. If an attorney requests your medical records then the medical provider can charge 50 cents per page up to 50 pages, then 25 cents per page after that. There is a $10 search and handling fee.
If a medical provider is charging you too much for your health care records or if you’re looking for help with your case, contact disability lawyer Richmond and Virginia Beach SSD attorney Corey Pollard for a free evaluation of your legal rights. We’re here to help you and your family get through this difficult time.