(804) 251-1620 Free Case Review

 

The 30-Day Rule: Keeping a Short-Term Job Out of Your Social Security Disability Claim

A short light-duty job after a work injury can come back to bite you years later in your Social Security disability claim. But a fix buried in the federal regulations is one that many people have never heard of. A job that “started and stopped in fewer than 30 calendar days” does not count as past relevant work, and if you know how the SSA counts those days, you can use this rule to your advantage.

How the 30-Day Rule Keeps a Short-Term Job from Blocking Your SSD Claim

Any job you held in the five years before the Social Security Administration (SSA) decides your claim can be used against you if the SSA calls it past relevant work (PRW). At step four of the five-step sequential evaluation process for proving disability, you have to show that your medical impairments keep you from doing any of your past relevant work. If the SSA decides you can still do one of those jobs, the claim ends there, and you lose.

I see this problem often in concurrent workers’ compensation and Social Security disability cases. Light-duty work your employer offers after an occupational injury can count as PRW even if you spent the rest of your career doing something more physical.

Excluding a short-term job as PRW is not a technicality; it can change your disability claim’s outcome. If the SSA cannot count that lighter job as past relevant work, it cannot deny you at step four by finding you can go back to it. Your claim moves to step five, where the medical-vocational guidelines (the “Grid Rules”) come into play. Age carries more weight there starting at age 50, and more still at 55 and older.

A hypothetical example from a concurrent claim

A UPS driver delivers packages for 20 years, then hurts his back badly enough that he can no longer lift or carry more than five pounds. While he gets treatment, UPS puts him behind a desk answering phones. Physical therapy appointments cause him to miss time, and UPS pulls the desk job.

He does not give the assignment another thought. He settles his workers’ compensation case, then files for Social Security disability. Months later, the SSA denies his initial application, finding that he can still do that desk job. That one finding may decide whether he gets SSDI benefits.

If the desk job counts as PRW, he must prove he cannot do that type of work, not just that he cannot drive a truck and deliver packages. That is a harder case to win. In a disability claim based on a back injury, showing you cannot do a job that requires heavy lifting is usually easy. Showing you cannot sit at a desk and pick up a phone is not, and he only ended up at that desk because of his workers’ comp claim.

The rule that excludes short-term work

The SSA’s 2024 changes to the past relevant work rules give you a way out. Beginning June 22, 2024, the SSA amended 20 C.F.R. § 404.1560(b) and § 404.1565 to cut the look-back period for past relevant work from 15 years to five and to exclude any job that “started and stopped in fewer than 30 calendar days.” Social Security Ruling (SSR) 24-2p came out at the same time and explains how the SSA applies both changes.

Under the new rules, a job you started and stopped in fewer than 30 calendar days is not past relevant work. Even if you worked full time or earned more than the substantial gainful activity (SGA) level for that year. And it doesn’t matter that you learned the job in that time. The SSA treats the 30-day requirement as a test separate from the SGA and the “long enough to learn” tests.

So if the UPS driver’s desk job started and stopped inside 30 days, it is not PRW in the SSA’s view.

How to count the 30 days (this is where you can win or lose the case)

Count carefully, because this is easy to get wrong. SSR 24-2p says the 30 days are “a period of 30 consecutive days, including weekends, starting from the first day of work.” The SSA generally does not care how many hours you put in during this time, how many days you actually showed up, or whether you worked full time or part time.

What matters is how many days passed on the calendar between your first day and your last. Fewer than 30, and the job is out, even if you made thousands of dollars. Thirty or more, and the job counts, even if you were slightly above SGA.

Here is the trap. Say our delivery driver above started the desk job on October 1, worked three days a week, and stopped on October 30. He worked maybe 12 days total; however, to the SSA, that job lasted 30 calendar days and can count as past relevant work. Empty days on the timesheet may not help if he earned above SGA.

The calendar can also work for you. A job that runs from the first of February to the last day of the month never reaches 30 days, so it cannot be past relevant work, no matter how much you earned or whether you became an expert in the job duties.

These are not my examples. They come from SSR 24-2p itself, which uses a job that ran March 1 through March 30 (30 days, therefore it counts) and one that ran from February 1 through February 28 (fewer than 30 days, so it does not count, even though the worker learned the job). Two or three days on the calendar can decide your case.

How the SSA gets this wrong – and why you should not wait for it to catch the mistake

The exclusion only helps if someone applies it to your claim, and the SSA’s own paperwork does not make that easy.

The Work History Report (Form SSA-3369) asks about your past work by month and year. The current instructions tell you not to list jobs that started and stopped in fewer than 30 calendar days, but let’s be honest, not everyone reads the instructions. If the job goes on the form as 09/25 to 09/25, it looks like a one-month job. The vocational expert (VE) at your hearing before an administrative law judge will classify your past work from that form and your testimony, and the judge will rely on that expert’s testimony. Nobody in the room will count calendar days unless you tell them to.

Leaving the job off the form is following the instructions; however, the wages still show up on your earnings record, and a quarter of unexplained income can make it look like you were hiding something. So I recommend listing the job on the form, but including a short written statement with the exact start and end dates, and mentioning that it is excluded under 20 C.F.R. § 404.1560(b) and SSR 24-2p. If you have them, attach the documents that prove the dates.

One more thing. File this information before the hearing so the judge has time to read it. Do not count on anyone applying the rule for you.

The workers’ comp file that created the problem may solve it

Applying this 30-day rule depends on documented start and end dates, and this is where handling concurrent claims helps. In a workers’ compensation case, those dates already exist in the file: the light-duty release from your doctor, the light-duty offer letter, attendance sheets from the employer, and the date your employer stopped accommodating, which is often marked on the change-in-condition application you file for the reinstatement of wage-loss benefits.

I know these dates are there because I spent the first part of my career on the side that creates them. Nobody in insurance defense ballparks the day light duty starts. That is the day wage-loss benefits stop or convert from temporary total to temporary partial, so the adjuster writes it down to the day. The insurer wants to save every penny it can.

The day the employer stops accommodating restrictions is treated the same, because it is the day you become entitled to seek reinstatement of wage-loss benefits, and the adjuster knows it. The insurance company’s paperwork documents both the start and end dates.

This light-duty job that threatens to become PRW often has a paper trail that keeps it from counting. When I evaluate a concurrent workers’ comp and Social Security disability case, that documentation is one of the first things I pull – because proving the desk job started and stopped inside 30 days is far easier when the comp file already has that information.

If you tried a light-duty job or a new position after your injury and it did not last long, lock down the timeline now, before your memory and the dates get fuzzy. Pull:

  • Your paystubs, for exact start and end dates. If you don’t have those, look for documentation of any temporary partial disability benefits you received.
  • The light-duty offer letter from the employer.
  • The separation notice or letter ending the light-duty assignment.
  • The date your doctor gave you restrictions that ended the light-duty work.
  • A copy of the Work History Report you gave the SSA, so the dates match.

Most of the time, that is all you need to keep a short-term job out of your past relevant work.

One important limit

The 30-day rule only helps when the job actually started and stopped inside that window. If it ran a few months before you could no longer handle it or the employer pulled it, this rule will not exclude it.

But that doesn’t end the discussion. You have other means to exclude the job as SGA. For example, it may qualify as an unsuccessful work attempt if it ended within six months because of your health. Or if your employer paid full wages for a fraction of the work, the SSA may consider part of that pay as a subsidy that does not count toward SGA.

And even if the job counts as past relevant work, testimony that you could not keep doing the job because of your health goes directly to whether you can do it as actually performed.

Talk to a Virginia disability and workers’ comp attorney

A short-term light-duty job should not cost you the disability benefits you have earned. But at step four, it can, unless someone catches it.

I look for past relevant work problems early and deal with them before your day in court, often using the same documents already sitting in your workers’ comp file.

Free consultation for your Social Security disability case: (804) 251-1620, or complete the contact form.